ILSI North America Board of Trustees:

The individuals who serve on ILSI North America's Board of Trustees volunteer their time and scientific expertise to help ILSI North America advance food safety and nutrition science for the benefit of public health. These individuals are unpaid volunteers who take their scientific and fiduciary responsibilities to the organization seriously. They serve on the ILSI North America Board of Trustees as individuals and do not represent their employers.

The 28-member Board of Trustees is comprised of 14 academic, 2 government and 12 industry scientists.

Margaret Creedon

Abbott Nutrition


Rickey Yada, PhD

University of British Columbia


Regan Bailey, PhD, MPH, RD

Purdue University 

Gary Beauchamp, PhD

Monell Chemical Senses Center

Robert Bertolo, PhD

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Kathryn Boor, PhD

Cornell University

Fergus Clydesdale, PhD

University of Massachusetts at Amherst

John Erdman, PhD

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Mario Ferruzzi, PhD

North Carolina State University

Mark Fryling, PhD

General Mills

Thomas Hartung, MD, PhD

Johns Hopkins University

James Hill, PhD

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Jason Hlywka, PhD

Kraft Heinz

Andrew Maynard, PhD

Arizona State University

Neil McGowan

The Kellogg Company

Simin Nikbin Meydani, DVM, PhD

Tufts University

Ratna Mukherjea, PhD


William Papa

The Hershey Company

Claudia Riedt, PhD

Keurig Dr Pepper

Frank Sabella

Mondelēz International

Craig Slavtcheff

Campbell Soup Company

Jess Sweley, PhD

ConAgra Brands

Stella Volpe, PhD, RD, LDN, FACSM

Virginia Tech

Richard Williams, PhD

George Mason University, former FDA (retired)

Government Liaisons to the Board of Trustees:

Chavonda Jacobs-Young, PhD

US Department of Agriculture

Arthur Liang, MD

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention